Discover an island rich in history and culture, and full of wonderful experiences just waiting to be enjoyed. If you are heading to Cyprus, everything

Unique Experiences

Whatever the season, Cyprus provides ample opportunity to experience something new, interesting and exciting, including activities, events, customs and places that are unique and special to the island.

Cyprus, an island in the eastern Mediterranean, has rich, turbulent history stretching back to antiquity. Known for its beaches, it has a rugged interior with wine-growing regions. It’s separated into a Greek south and Turkish north, with the capital Nicosia also divided. Coastal Paphos is famed for its archaeological sites relating to the cult of Aphrodite, including ruins of palaces, tombs and mosaic-adorned villas.

Capital: Nicosia
Dialing code: +357

In the Republic of Cyprus, the official language is Greek and Cypriots write in Standard Modern Greek, which they’re taught at school.

However, they speak Greek Cypriot, which is a dialect of Greek that reflects the influence of the myriad of nations that have ruled Cyprus over the years. Although it observes the grammar and syntax of the Greek language, it contains certain non-standard words, including some from Ancient Greek, and some words are pronounced in a different way.

If many local words and pronunciations are used, it can be difficult for a Standard Modern Greek speaker (e.g. from mainland Greece) to understand. Nevertheless, if you speak Standard Modern Greek well, you will have little difficulty being understood, and Cypriots will happily ‘standardise’ their Greek so that you can understand them.

The second language of Cyprus is English, as the country was a British colony from 1878 until 1960. Many Greek Cypriots have lived and worked or been educated in the UK, and, in some cases, the US. English is considered a symbol of sophistication and many Cypriots strive to perfect their English. It therefore isn’t essential to learn Greek, even if you plan to live and work there.


The currency in Spain is the euro, the same as in other European Union countries.

The euro is divided into 100 cents.

  • There are eight different coins: 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 cents, and 1 and 2 euros.
  • There are seven different bank notes, for the following amounts: 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200 and 500 euros