Nepal is endowed with rich hydropower potentials with perennial rivers and glaciers flowing from Himalayan ranges. The elevation of the country ranges from 6om above sea level to the highest point on earth, Mt. Everest at 8848m, all within a distance of 150 km resulting into climatic conditions from sub- tropical to Arctic.

Nepal has a unique landscape, and a fabulous biodiversity. Occupying only 0.03 percent area of the earth

Nepal officially the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal, is a Sovereign state located in South Asia. With an area of 147,181 square kilometres (56,827 sq mi) and a population of approximately 27 million, Nepal is the world’s 93rd largest country by area and the 41st most populous country. It is a landlocked country located along the Himalayas and bordered to the north by China and to the south, east, and west by India. Nepal is separated from Bangladesh by the narrow Indian Siliguri Corridor and from Bhutan by the Indian state of Sikkim. Kathmandu is the nation’s capital city and largest metropolis.

Capital: Kathmandu

Nepali is an Indo-Aryan language. It is the official language and de facto lingua franca of Nepal and India. Besides, Indian Gorkha and Nepalese people, it is also spoken by a significant number of Bhutanese and some Burmese people. In India, Nepali is listed in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution of India having an official status in the Indian state of Sikkim and in West Bengal’s Darjeeling district. Nepali developed in proximity to a number of Indo-Aryan languages, most notably the Pahari languages and Magahi, and shows Sanskrit influences. However, owing to Nepal’s geographical area, it has also been influenced by Tibeto-Burman languages. Nepali is mainly differentiated from Central Pahari, both in grammar and vocabulary, by Tibeto-Burman idioms owing to close contact with the respective language group. Nepali language shares 40% lexical similarity with the Bengali language. British Resident at Kathmandu Brian Houghton Hodgson has observed that it is, in eight-tenths of its vocables, substantially Hindi.

The rupee (Nepali: रूपैयाँ) is the official currency of Nepal. The present rupee has the ISO 4217 code NPR and is normally abbreviated with the sign रू. It is subdivided into 100 paisa. The issuance of the currency is controlled by the Nepal Rastra Bank. Several other currencies are also called rupee. The Nepalese rupee is pegged to the Indian rupee.